The Alien in Me

Four years it has been
That I was ignorant and gullible
Four years it has been
And I stayed ignorant and gullible

Four years it has been
That I was alien to you
Four years it has been
That you embraced the alien in me

Four years it has been
That I was a goody two shoes
Four years it has been
That you showed me some clues

Four years it has been
That I fell in love with you
Two years it will be
That I will always love you

Two years it will be
That I will never forget you
Two years it will be
That I will forever remember you

Two years from now that I look back
To the four years it has been that I lived with you
To the four years it has been that I was your student
To the four years it has been that I was your multi-functional assistant

Two years from now that I look back
To the twelve years I’ve lived without you at my back
To the twelve years I’ve lived with much worse aristocrats
To the twelve years I’ve lived hiding in my shell

Two years from now that I look back
To the 13th of February in 2016
To the day I wrote you this poem
To the day that I showed you once again
The alien in me

Leave a Reply

