Let’s Talk About Body Shaming in the Philippines

ERICA DAWN

Let me start off by saying I am a fiercely proud mixed-race, Filipino-American woman. Growing up, I had the wonderful and rare opportunity to live in the Philippines for six years — I learned Tagalog, immersed myself in the culture, enjoyed the endless delicacies and most importantly, developed a very close bond with my family on my mom’s side. I am lucky to call both the Philippines and the United States my home.

If there’s one thing I can attest to during my six-year stay in the Philippines, it’s that Filipinos have earned their reputation of being some of the most friendly people in the world. And it’s true, we are! However, no culture comes without blemishes, and the Philippines is no exception. I want to highlight one of our societal flaws that no one seems to talk about: blatant body shaming.

FullSizeRender Illustration: Niki Waters

Although I do not live…

View original post 833 more words

Leave a Reply

